1589275587_maxresdefault


Black Friday Shop


Samsung’s new Galaxy A51 costs $399 and makes a big 6.5-inch screen affordable. It has a 48-megapixel camera, 4,000mAh battery, and is part of a big push to make Samsung’s most popular phone line worldwide more common in the US. Samsung’s mantra is that it has an “awesome screen, awesome camera, long-lasting battery life,” but not all of those claims are true, as you’ll see in this review.

Read the full review here:

If you buy something from a Verge link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics policy:

Buy the Galaxy A51 at Samsung:

Subscribe:
Subscribe to Verge Science:

Community guidelines:
Wallpapers from The Verge:



source

22 Comments

  1. The Verge May 12, 2020

    What's your #1 priority in a low-cost phone?

  2. AnthonyyRT May 12, 2020

    This review comes froma guy who happened to be so in love with iPhone. He's basically trashing Samsung. I also don't think that he's not coming from the view of someone who can't really afford thousands of dollars for an "awesome" phone. Last year I bought the first phone from my first job ever, it happened to be Samsung Galaxy A51, which I love to this day. One more point I want to stress more, this device have 6-8gb of ram, I'm not sure wtf this guy is saying that it has 4gb of ram. I mean it doesnt make much sense, how can this be an upgrade if this has 4gb and last year's a50 have 6gb. Stupid.

  3. AnthonyyRT May 12, 2020

    "None of them are awesome" lies.

  4. Frykauf La Kosta May 12, 2020

    4gb ram, big oof

  5. Anele Sibanda May 12, 2020

    Area 51

  6. EzioPP gaming May 12, 2020

    I'm happy with my A71
    Keep up the good work

  7. ayaan haryani May 12, 2020

    Awesome screen Awesome camera long lasting battery life

  8. R R May 12, 2020

    The problem is with the perception that $400 is a cheap phone! It is a significant investment. Perhaps most people pay exorbitant cell phone package fees via Verizon, etc and the monthly cost for the actual phone doesn't register quite so clearly. Cell service does not need to be so costly. Therefore, when buying an unlocked phone, $400 is pricey for a utilitarian device (phone, internet, photos). The attitude of the reviewer belies his elitist background. (I tried an A series phone and returned it…it didn't measure up to basic expectations.)

  9. ZAINUDIN HASSAN May 12, 2020

    Greetings from singapore, hello sir 🙋‍♂️. I just saw this video and lucky i did not buy this phone. I've been using samsung galaxy note 3 since april 2014. Also using samsung galaxy A10 since july 10 last year. Actually i'm looking for a budget phone that have at least 8 or 12 gb ram. Besides samsung i find oppo phones also quite impressive. Can you upload videos on oppo smartphones?

  10. Adhit Setiawan May 12, 2020

    Samsung sell Galaxy A51 in Indonesia for 299 USD, while Apple usually sell their product here 20-30% higher than US retail price. Maybe because tax stuff or something. So maybe iPhone SE would have 450-480 USD price tag here in Indonesia.

  11. TIKTOK CHANNEL May 12, 2020

    Who r small youtuber here.. Let's help each other and grow.. 😊😊😊

  12. Jeff Walenta May 12, 2020

    Camera, battery life, updates.

  13. Fiq May 12, 2020

    US got 4GB RAM, others, in Malaysia, we have 6/8GB RAM version.

  14. Emmanuel 46810 May 12, 2020

    It's slow as it might come with s plastic screen protector pre install on it that's what I think not judging

  15. mouad ab May 12, 2020

    I don't like this dude ,for real , been a verge fan ever since they started
    This kind of reviewers puts the whole company on the apple biased side
    Which is not professional at all
    Dieter are you aware that this is better storage better screen futuristic look fast charging multiple cameras
    For the same price as the revised iphone 6 from apple
    (I mean iphone se )

  16. Brado 123 May 12, 2020

    he finally got a review right

  17. Dark Space May 12, 2020

    Aaaaawesome video!

  18. newfnshow031 May 12, 2020

    You guys should do more budget phones… We don't need everyone on YouTube reviewing 1k phones.

  19. syafiq karim May 12, 2020

    samsung area 51

  20. Wajid Choudary May 12, 2020

    Its updated to 2.1 one ui

  21. Sarthak Sanwal May 12, 2020

    Am I the only one waiting for pixel 4a….

  22. Yasindu De Silva May 12, 2020

    This review's bad. This device is much better at many aspects than the rebranded iPhone 8 .The camera department is the only place it falls behind the competition, it's just mediocre.More than enough for an average consumer. Hope no one got offended. PEACE

Leave a Comment

Black Friday 2020 Best Buy 2020